License request in Report Builder 6.1

Discussion regarding installation problems for all products.

License request in Report Builder 6.1

Postby aschmidt » Mon Aug 20, 2012 2:12 am

Hallo there !

For test reasons I installed Unify 6.1 Team Developer and Report Builder on my Windows 7 using the testdrive license.
After deciding to use the version 6.1 for production I deinstalled the testdrive and reinstalled it with my own PMC.
For the 6.1 Team Developer it was possible to send a registry request with my PMC and the generated PAC.
After receiving the PAK the TD could be activated permanently.

Report Builder since 6.1 seems to require a separat registration.
But here a successful registration is not possible, because the PMC in the registration form is always the PMC
of the former testdrive.
Even after reinstallations it is not possible to get the right PMC incorporated.

Thanks for your help !

Regards,
A. Schmidt
aschmidt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 1:29 am

Re: License request in Report Builder 6.1

Postby mvandine » Mon Aug 20, 2012 7:49 am

Hi,

Try this:

Uninstall TD6.1 and make sure that all entries in the c:\program data\unify\Team Developer 6.1 are deleted. Now reinstall TD again and register it and Report Builder will also be registered.

This is a known defect whereby if a test drive was installed first, then production installed, items are left in this directory.

Sorry for any inconvenience!
Mike Vandine
Gupta Technologies
User avatar
mvandine
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: License request in Report Builder 6.1

Postby aschmidt » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:12 am

Hello mvandine !

Thank you for the answer.
I hoped you could provide an answer other then reinstallation. :?
As many other developers there are several productive installed versions on my computer.
After a new installation you have to start from the scratch.
Useless hours to return to status quo ...

Why is it so difficult to provide the registration process with a dialog that asks for
a valid PMC for the each product and not take the PMC of the installation time ?
IMHO a nessessary development in times of cloned virtual environments. :wink:

Regards,
A. Schmidt
aschmidt
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 1:29 am

Re: License request in Report Builder 6.1

Postby mvandine » Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:28 pm

I understand. I would have liked to give you a different solution. :)

This bug (which involves ONLY uninstalling a test version) has been fixed with new releases so you shouldn't have this problem in the future.

Best regards,
Mike Vandine
Gupta Technologies
User avatar
mvandine
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron