Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Discussions specific to SQLBase 11.5

Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby kcampbell » Mon Aug 16, 2010 12:19 pm

When I attempted to install the SQLBase 11.5 SP3 version on a Windows 2003 Server, the install shield program ran through a couple of checks such as Checking Operating system, and a couple of others which flashed by rather quickly, then I got the error message 1628: Failed to complete installation. (I had previously attempted to install it on a Windows 7 machine with the same result.) I saw a previous post for version 9.0.1 which said to run it as Administrator, so I tried to do this on the Windows 7 machine, and still got the same error message. I have not yet attempted this on the Windows 2003 Server (don't even know if that is an option on that operating system). Any suggestions? Thanks...

Kaleb Campbell
kcampbell
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:28 am

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby Jeff Luther » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:53 pm

Kaleb - there is a SQLBase 11.5 forum area here which would be a better place to post your question. Mike V. our SQLBase guy will have a better chance of finding it there than here. Tell you what: For this reason I'll see if I can move this thread to that area.
Jeff Luther
 

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby Jeff Luther » Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:55 pm

I did move it and left this behind as 'evidence.' BE SURE to respond/reply to this thread in that section. Thanks.
Jeff Luther
 

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby mvandine » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:40 am

Hi Kaleb,

Did you install using the 'Update' or the 'Full install'. If you try to run the update and you haven't got it already installed, you will get this message.
Mike Vandine
Gupta Technologies
User avatar
mvandine
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby kcampbell » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:39 am

Mike, the file I downloaded was SQLB-115SP3-WIN_UPDATE.zip. I see where you also have a file to download called SQLB-115SP3-WIN_FULL.zip, but that download is listed under the Product Evaluation section, and the media code given there says it is for the Test Drive. We have full licenses to SQLBase, and are trying to upgrade from version 8.5.0 to 11.5. Will the SQLB-115SP3-WIN_FULL.zip file with the given media code work in our case? Thanks for your help on this...
kcampbell
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:28 am

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby kcampbell » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:09 pm

Mike, one more thing, I actually did download the "FULL" file, and the name that it came down as was SQLB-115SP3-WIN_UPDATE_9267.zip. I tried running the setup file in this zip file, using the media code specified on your web site under the Product Evaluation section, but the install says this is an invalid product media code. Is there somewhere else I should be looking for the media code?

Thanks...
kcampbell
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:28 am

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby kcampbell » Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:47 pm

Mike, I may have found my own problem. I was not going into the GLS section to do my downloads. I found an old email which described how to do these downloads, and now I have been able to install successfully. My only question now is if I was correct in just opening up my 8.5.0 database with the new release. It seemed to open up just fine, and the application that uses the data also seems to work. I noticed that the Migration Wizard that came with this release only referred to upgrading from SQLBase International. Since I was coming up from 8.5.0, I did not have to do a migration(?).

Thanks!

Kaleb
kcampbell
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 11:28 am

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby mvandine » Tue Aug 17, 2010 3:40 pm

That is correct. The SQLBase International version has some changes to the structure and that needs to be modified when going from that version to any version above it, thus the migration wizard.

I would highly recommend doing an unload/load of the database on the new version, just to get it into a defragmented state. If you need a sample script to do this, just let me know.

Best regards,
Mike Vandine
Gupta Technologies
User avatar
mvandine
 
Posts: 4120
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:15 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Error 1628 On SQLBase 11.5 SP3 install

Postby rizvi777 » Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:29 pm

This is very helpful... Thanx!
rizvi777
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:26 pm


Return to SQLBase 11.5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron