Page 1 of 1

TD 6.1 sp3r to sp4 deploy installation

PostPosted: Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:07 am
by spryll
We are considering moving from Team Developer 6.1 sp3r to 6.1 sp4. My question concerns deployment. Will users need to uninstall their sp3r deploy, or will they be able to update to the sp4 deploy in-place?

Re: TD 6.1 sp3r to sp4 deploy installation

PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2014 1:50 pm
by VEspinal
Hi:

No, they don't.

Your developers need to uninstall sp3r and then install SP4, compile again the application(s) and update the end users sites with the new deployment files.

HTH

Regards,
Victor Espinal

Re: TD 6.1 sp3r to sp4 deploy installation

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:11 am
by spryll
Thank you, but I have more questions:

Currently we are using 6.1 SP3r in development and all of our customers are installed with the deploy61.exe from SP3r. For our next software release we want to go to the latest SP5. How do we handle this for our customer’s installations? Should we just distribute the deploy61.exe from SP5 and have them run that or do they first have to uninstall the deploy61.exe from SP3r? Or, preferably, can we simply update the deploy files on their installation that have changed for SP5? Looking for the easiest method for them, as many have upwards of 100 clients that would need to be updated.

Thank you,
Sheldon

Re: TD 6.1 sp3r to sp4 deploy installation

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2014 5:00 pm
by VEspinal
Hi:

Please take a look on the following link:
http://support.guptatechnologies.com/Do ... eploy.html

Thanks
Victor