Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Discussions specific to Team Developer 5.1.

Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Postby SteveLeighton » Wed Jul 07, 2010 4:15 pm

Hello !

I am building an app to modify the Project-->Build Settings-->Version data of any pre-selected app file, using CDK.

After setting all the appropriate parameters, a call to the CDK function
Code: Select all
cdkBuildSettings.UpdateBuildSettings()
does not seem to work. The Version data remains as it was previous to the call.

I am running TD5.1 PTF6.

Attached is a sample to show how I am attempting this. Any hints as to what else is needed, or confirmation that CDKUpdateBuildSettings is not working, greatly appreciated.

Note needs cdk.apl included.

Thanks
SaveProjectBuildVersionData.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best wishes
Steve
Bankside Systems Ltd. ( New Zealand )
http://www.banksidesystems.co.uk
Image
Go forward! Come join the TD, SqlBase & TDMobile community on
Team Developer Community Forum
User avatar
SteveLeighton
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:50 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Postby Jeff Luther » Mon Jul 12, 2010 10:48 am

Still need to save the modified appl. back out, Steve. Add these 2 calls before Return TRUE:

Call CDK_App.SaveOutlineAsText( 'c:\\TESTING.APP', FALSE ) ! or whatever name you have; this is just for testing
Call CDK_App.CloseApp()
Jeff Luther
 

Re: Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Postby SteveLeighton » Mon Jul 12, 2010 5:40 pm

Hi Jeff Thanks for looking into this and appreciate your suggestion. I'd be very interested to know if you tried it - I added the two extra calls as suggested, but even though all functions return TRUE, the call to
Code: Select all
CDK_App.SaveOutlineAsText( 'c:\\TESTING.APP', FALSE )
actually saves the ORIGINAL version values - even tho the instance variables do hold the NEW values. This applies whether saving to a new file, or the original instansiated one.
I've attached a new version of my test with your two suggested lines added. I also tried a call to
Code: Select all
CDK_App.SaveOutline( 'c:\\TESTING.APP' )
with the same result. Its almost as if the call to SaveOutline is not pointing to the instance of CDK_App that cBuildVersionData is pointing to .
Appreciate any further clues.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best wishes
Steve
Bankside Systems Ltd. ( New Zealand )
http://www.banksidesystems.co.uk
Image
Go forward! Come join the TD, SqlBase & TDMobile community on
Team Developer Community Forum
User avatar
SteveLeighton
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:50 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Postby EWetzel » Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:01 pm

Hi,

this is an old issue and only fixed in 5.2.

http://support.guptatechnologies.com/supportforum/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=1608

best regards
Enrico
EWetzel
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:21 am

Re: Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Postby SteveLeighton » Mon Jul 12, 2010 11:44 pm

AW ! - T-e-r-r-i-f-i-c. Thanks for the feedback anyway.
An 'Old' issue ? If reported in TD5.1 PTF2 should have been fixed by PTF6 which is not so old I would have thought. esp. for those sites still financing their 5.1 upgrade.
Guesss I should have done a proper forum search before wasting time.
Thanks for letting me know.
Best wishes
Steve
Bankside Systems Ltd. ( New Zealand )
http://www.banksidesystems.co.uk
Image
Go forward! Come join the TD, SqlBase & TDMobile community on
Team Developer Community Forum
User avatar
SteveLeighton
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:50 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand

Re: Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Postby Jeff Luther » Tue Jul 13, 2010 4:37 pm

You know what, this is the v5.1 section, isn't it :cry: Sorry for the confusion in 'assuming' v5.2!! Have you considered upgrading to v5.2?
Jeff Luther
 

Re: Using CDK to set Project-->Build Settings-->Version data

Postby SteveLeighton » Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:29 pm

I would go to 5.2 if I had my way - but we've only just finished upgrading our sites from 4.2 to 5.1 and SQLBase 11.5 . And getting all sorts of propoganda from certain C# merchants to avoid 5.2 and go for the sausage factory option. quote:
...as the shortcomings of Unify’s 5.2 offering become increasingly apparent. That, and the realization that the productivity offered by Visual Studio plus the wealth of features in .NET are convincing application owners and authors that it is time to change.
unquote. Which does not help our cause much. They must be trying their luck before we get to prove that v6 is so much better than their offerings.
Best wishes
Steve
Bankside Systems Ltd. ( New Zealand )
http://www.banksidesystems.co.uk
Image
Go forward! Come join the TD, SqlBase & TDMobile community on
Team Developer Community Forum
User avatar
SteveLeighton
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 7:50 am
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand


Return to Team Developer 5.1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron