Oracle 12

Discussions specific to Team Developer 5.1.

Oracle 12

Postby far » Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:23 am

My customer plans to update from Oracle 11to Oracle 12c.

I made a test to see if everything works with this new Oracle Version. My Program witch was build with TeamDeveloper 5.1 cannot connect to this database.
Everything, except this program, works as before (Java programs and Oracle sqlDeveloper). With Oracle 11 no problems.
I get SQL Error 'cannot connect'.

I know, it Oracle 12c is not supported. Oracle 11 also was not supported, but is running very good.
Is there a known issue wit teamdeveloper 5.1 and oracle 12c? Any chance to get it running editing sql.ini?

far
far
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:08 am

Re: Oracle 12

Postby Dave Rabelink » Sun Mar 23, 2014 6:47 am

I just ask...

Did you use the 32bit Oracle client?
Regards,
Dave Rabelink

Image
Articles on Team Developer Wiki
Download samples from TD Sample Vault

Image
Go forward! Come join the TD, SqlBase & TDMobile community on
Team Developer Community Forum
User avatar
Dave Rabelink
 
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Gouda, The Netherlands

Re: Oracle 12

Postby far » Mon Mar 24, 2014 5:09 am

Dave Rabelink wrote:I just ask...

Did you use the 32bit Oracle client?


Yes the client runs on windows 2003 32 bit. The server is linux fedora 20 64 bit. The client has no problem with orace 9, 10 and 11.

I found I have to add the remotedbname in sql.ini. But I still cannot open. Now the message is
"Cannot open database".

Harald
far
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:08 am

Re: Oracle 12

Postby Charlie » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:00 am

From my experience working with Oracle databases (from version 7 to 11) and Team Developer (production applications built/maintained with SQLWindows 5.1, TD 2.0, TD2.1, TD5.2; and testing of TD versions 3.1 and 4.2), any Oracle client compatible with the particular version of TD has been able to get our apps connected and working without issue with any version of Oracle.

A "cannot connect to database" error sure sniffs of something missing (or not correct) in either (or both) SQL.INI and/or TNSNAMES.ORA

Unless Oracle 12 really is a different beast that will not work with previous generation Oracle clients ...
Image

Come join us at Dave Rabelink's "Team Developer Community Forum"!
All users of OpenText™ Gupta Development Tools and Databases welcome!
http://tdforum.daverabelink.net/index.php
Charlie
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:04 am
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Oracle 12

Postby far » Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:22 pm

>> From my experience working with Oracle databases (from version 7 to 11) and Team Develope ... any Oracle client ... working without issue

That is also my experience. And also every other client which I tried work without problem. First I had a wrong SQL.ini. Now sql.ini and tnsnames.ora are good. Now I don't get 'cannot connect to database", I get 'cannot open database'.


Harald
far
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:08 am

Re: Oracle 12

Postby Charlie » Thu Apr 03, 2014 3:42 am

What version of the Oracle client are you using ?
Image

Come join us at Dave Rabelink's "Team Developer Community Forum"!
All users of OpenText™ Gupta Development Tools and Databases welcome!
http://tdforum.daverabelink.net/index.php
Charlie
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:04 am
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Oracle 12

Postby far » Thu Apr 03, 2014 11:09 pm

On the developer computer Oracle 9 is installed. It was not installed by me. I also find an installer which have the version 10.1.0.5.0.
I am not shure how to check the client version. Probably it is 9. The installer shows the installed products. Here a snapshot:

oracle_inst.png

Maybe this is a good point to check. On the other side all other programs (e.g. SqlDeveloper and java programs have no problem to connect to oracle 12).

What would I have to install to get the new client?

Thank you
Harald
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
far
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:08 am

Re: Oracle 12

Postby Charlie » Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:24 am

You have two Oracle Clients installed?

Are they using the same TNSNAMES.ORA file ?

My guess is that each Oracle client is using its own TNSNAMES.ORA file. Try putting the entry/entries you need in both TNSNAMES.ORA files.
Image

Come join us at Dave Rabelink's "Team Developer Community Forum"!
All users of OpenText™ Gupta Development Tools and Databases welcome!
http://tdforum.daverabelink.net/index.php
Charlie
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2008 5:04 am
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Oracle 12

Postby far » Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:02 am

I am not shure. But I think I have only Oracle 9.2 installed. From Oracle 10.1 I see only an installer.

Harald
far
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2014 8:08 am


Return to Team Developer 5.1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron